top of page

HOME SWEET HOME

When I was 19 I moved into a little dorm room with my friend. At the time, most of the furniture was built in to the (micro) apartment and my parents bought the rest.

I took some old floral bedding that I always loved from my country house, my mom bought me a cute little table with a lamp attached to it #innovative and a furry shag-style carpet. I was set!

I eventually moved on to buying the $10 square end tables from IKEA and the world's smallest couch.

Fast forward 5 years and 2 apartments later I finally returned to Montreal empty handed. I left all of my "law school stuff" where it belonged, on craig's list or in the dumpster. My furry carpet had seen its day and my toaster from target was tired. I was ready to start fresh.

I moved into an apartment alot bigger than what I was used to and I had my work cut out for me. I was on a tight decorating budget but I am somone who LOVES stuff and I was gonna make it happen. This was my first chance to really make my home a home.

HERE'S HOW TO DECORATE/FURNISH/MAKE YOUR HOME A HOME ON A BUDGET:

STEP 1.

Ask friends and family what they have and if they are looking to get rid of it. Do not settle for something that you don't love or you don't need (or that doesn't match), but there may be something awesome. I got my dining table and 4 chairs from my brother in law because he was moving to a new place and he didn't need them - I lucked out because the set matches perfectly and it's something I would have bought myself.

STEP 2.

SET A BUDGET. Give yourself an amount and be patient. Don't rush to buy every lamp and picture frame in one weekend. Decorating is a process and there's always time to add more as you go. If you see something you like and it's not in your price range, ask yourself how worth it is - if you're really hesitating - move on - there will be something else. Trust me.

STEP 3.

Find out if you know someone (or know someone who knows someone) who is "in the business of..." This usually works well with bigger items (mattress, tv, furniture) these can all be expensive and getting a discount could really be helpful. I got my mattress and 2 TVs this way. Always ask around - everyone has connections.

STEP 4.

Make 2 lists. The first list should be essentials such as furniture and bedding. The second list should be the fun stuff such as pillows for the couch and art for the walls. Try to get the big stuff out of the way first. You'll feel more settled. But, priorities don't always matter. If you see something cute (ie: a chalkboard) and you have to have it, then get it. #YOLO

STEP 5.

Remember that only you and/or your roommate have to be happy and comfortable where you live. If you take a friend or parent shopping and they disagree with something you want remember that YOU will have to live with it. Choose what makes YOU happy.

STEP 6. - WHERE TO GO?

For inspiration or depending on your budget check out - West Elm, Restoration Hardware, Crate and Barrel, Artemano or any major department store (sales can be UNREAL).

Then go to:

1. Your parents house

Parents with older kids are always trying to get rid of stuff now that they have "empty nest syndrome". Maybe you can take your favorite chair or a bookshelf from their basement. (I scored 3 end tables and 2 couches!)

2. Walmart & Target (affordable small appliances, TVs - sales are AMAZING)

  • Closet storage units

  • Shoe racks #crucial

3. Homesense, Winners, Homegoods, Zara Home, and IKEA

THEY HAVE EVERYTHING - the possibilities are endless

  • furniture

  • bedding

  • lamps

  • decorations (picture frames, etc.)

  • dishes

  • cutlery

  • art

  • towels

  • bathroom supplies (toilet paper holders - soap dishes)

  • sheets, blankets

  • pillows

  • kitchen items

  • rugs, carpets

YOU NAME IT, THEY HAVE IT. AND IT'S STYLISH AND IT'S AFFORDABLE AND THEY HAVE A CLEARANCE SECTION TOO. I'M FREAKING OUT JUST TYPING THIS.

Send me an email if you have more questions or want my opinion on the lava lamp you want to take from your brother's old room. (I won't approve).

Happy Shopping!

PS:

The kitchen table and chairs are a hand-me-down from my brother in law;

The picture with the spoons is from IKEA ($40);

All the picture frames are from Home Sense, Winners and TJ Maxx (all under $10 each);

The chair is from Homegoods (USA Version of Homesense - $199);

The footstool is from Winners ($49);

Pillow from Homegoods ($19).

photo 2-2.JPG
Archive
No tags yet.
Search By Tags

© 2014 by GIRLWORLDMTL. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page