top of page

SPEND OR SAVE: MAKEUP EDITION

Hi lovelies,

I'm no expert when it comes to beauty products but I always like to try new things. I don't know about you, but I have a hard time trying to figure what to splurge on and what I can pick up at the pharmacy. All I know is, I walk into Sephora for one lip gloss and walk out $250 worth of products later. Am I alone?


This week I spoke with makeup maven Alex Weinstein, (the brains and beauty behind Alexandra Jaye make up) about products that are actually worth spending your hard earned cash on, and great products that we can find for less. Here's what Girlworld Expert, Alex suggests for getting glam.

Mascara: Steal

What? Loreal Voluminous mascara

Where? Pharmacy

Accoding to Alex: "It brings so much volume to your lashes. I suggest Black Carbon if you're really looking to emphasize those lashes."

Blush: Splurge

What? Mac blush

Where? Mac

According to Alex: "Get it in shades called Harmony or Gingerly."

Concealer: Steal

What? Rimmel Wake me up concealer

Where? Pharmacy

According to Alex: "Such a great concealer for the drug store, reminds me of Nars creamy concealer."

Lip Gloss: Splurge-ish

What? Alexandra Jaye lipgloss

According to Alex: "Beautiful natural colours...they have a slight tacky texture and are SUPER long lasting."

Eye Liner: Steal

What? Loreal infallible super slim 12 hr felt tip liner

Where? Pharmacy

According to Alex: "My favourite eye liner is Tom Ford felt tip liner (over $50), so a perfect replacement for that is Loreal Infallible 12 hr felt tip liner. I found this searching for a cheaper version of my liner for my makeup kit and instantly fell in love. Also, Inglot Gel Eyeliner in #77 has been my go to gel liner. It was only $13 and its waterproof and lasts all day!"

Lipstick: Splurge-ish

What? Alexandra Jaye lipstick

According to Alex: "When looking for a lipstick, look for something that won't dry out your lips, (especially in the cold weather). That is why I formulated these lipsticks with Vitamin E, to lock in the moisture ALL DAY LONG. There are 8 colours to choose from, and a new collection coming March 2015!"

Bronzer: Splurge

What? Make Up For Ever matte bronzer

Where? Sephora, department stores that sell Make Up For Ever

According to Alex: "This bronzer is everything, you can warm up your skin with it or use it to contour (so you're getting a 2 in 1 product). With a shimmery bronzer you won't be able to contour, because of the shimmer, but with this matte bronzer you can do both! And it lasts ALL day."

Eye Shadow: Steal

What? Makeup Geek

According to Alex: "These eyeshadows are $5! They are my favourite EVER. I try to switch up my eyeshadows but I always end up going back to these. They are super pigmented, creamy and blendable."

Foundation: Steal and Splurge

Steal

What? Loreal True Match

Where? Pharmacy

According to Alex: "AMAZING. And if you have dry skin then I would suggest Loreal True Match LUMI. It gives an amazing dewy finish."

Splurge

What? Make Up For Ever HD foundation

Where? Sephora, department stores that sell Make Up For Ever

According to Alex: "This foundation is medium coverage, and is a staple in a makeup artist kit. That is why I suggest it, it is globally known for making everyone have a flawless face."

Moisturizer: Steal

What? Olay complete all day moisturizer with SPF 15.

Where? Pharmacy

According to Alex: "This is made for sensitive skin, but I still recommend it for all skin types. It has SPF in it, and will keep you protected all day!"

Ok, now go shop and don't forget to check out Alex's website.

Tag us in your glammed up pics! @girlworldmtl and @alexandrajaye on Insta!

XOXO

Archive
No tags yet.
Search By Tags

© 2014 by GIRLWORLDMTL. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page